Discussion » Health & Fitness » Health Insurance in China

• Pavoir Sponse
    Pavoir Sponse wrote:
      Has anybody bought this themselves?

Is it expensive?

Any advices?
  • Pavoir Sponse
    Pavoir Sponse wrote:
      yeah, I can pay a bit more than that if needs be, ha. It is more for my daughter than anything....
  • Pavoir Sponse
    Pavoir Sponse wrote:
      She was born on 11.11. Cute little thing too
  • Pavoir Sponse
    Pavoir Sponse wrote:
      cheers, i was kinda hoping to get something at that price, for less than 2,000 anyway

and does that cover you for most stuff?
  • 叮噹叔叔 (令狐叮噹)
    。。。

hahahahaha ... finally someone asked about the "i" word? Only if I am still an agent though ... 

What cover do you need for your daughter?  
  • Pavoir Sponse
    Pavoir Sponse wrote:
      Hospitalization and Outpatient I guess. I presume I will be the sole policy holder. Also a policy that offers direct billing with a few Beijing hospitals would be good.

Getting quotes has prove quite a labyrinthine process
  • 叮噹叔叔 (令狐叮噹)

(continued) ... just to clarify ... when you guys talked about $, you meant USD, right?

Besides AXA, there is also Chartis (previously known as AIU) ... personally, I am a bit biased towards the latter, because I used to be with AIA ...

There are also others who are not too commonly known in China, including Bupa ... but I think they only have offices in Shanghai ...

As far as "direct billing" is concerned, I think Bupa (and one other whom I cannot remember the name of) might have something like that, I dont know if AXA has it, but I just called my friend over at Chartis who told me that the "direct billing" option will cost a bit more, something like 30k RMB premium per year covering one parent and one child together for US$3m including a wide range of medical items (they currently cannot insure just the child) ...