Discussion » Beijing Life » Welcome to China.

• Andrés
    Andrés wrote:
    <p>This is my first time, ever, to participate in a forum, even though I've been reading them for quite a while (ever since I got internet, back in the days).</p> <p>Well, this topic is basically thought for all those newcomers that will move soon to Beijing (meaning actually me, at the moment).</p> <p>See, the thing is, I'll do my internship there for six months, starting in September. Now, I would like some of you guys to give me some advice on what Beijing is actually like. I've been reading other threads (about what you had to leave behind, what you miss, what works there and what doesn't), but I would like some of you to give me some advice before I step chinese lands for the first time. What should I bring, what will I need, what could I do and what can't be done over there, anything you might think about.</p> <p>I know, I know, some of you must be thinking "why China" and "you're crazy if you're coming here to work in the first place", but hey, it's all about the experience, not in my field, experience in life. I wouldn't like to get stuck up in my country forever, mostly knowing that as I'll never go to outer space to know other planets, this planet right here is pretty much I'll ever get to know, and I'm putting both hands into it. So, therefore, I'm moving to China, and I'll love it.</p> <p>So now, please help me guys, help me already to like this experience!</p>
  • Simen Wangberg

"You are not the first to have this thought... 1000's of English teachers and backpackers with trust funds are already here."

• 叮噹叔叔 (令狐叮噹)

Hahahaha ... bring your scubba diving gear if you have any :)

• Harry Olu
    Harry Olu wrote:

Also get yourself a life jacket .. LOL.. We gonna swim again mhen ...

• Schokoschoko
    Schokoschoko wrote:

At the moment, I'm living in Germany, so I don't know how different will the prices be in Beijing, about food, expenses, living.