Discussion » Ask a Foreigner » How to achieve my American dream?

• Ivan Wong
    Ivan Wong wrote:
    <p>I need your help first!</p> <p>I'm a senior student in Lanzhou, China. I hope you guys know where I'm located. Do you know that place?&gt;_&lt;</p> <p>So American seems like a shining star for me. It's beside&nbsp;my shoulder, but too hard to reach. So I am here to ask for advice about studying in American.</p> <p>As you have seen, my English Standard is just SO SO. Some basic conversation and communication is okay, but when it comes to some hard expressions and some slang, I'm sorry, I DO not know. I have great interested in English, Chemistry and Biology.</p> <p>I hope I can enter into a great American collage.(Yeah, maybe that's a dream) My family is not so rich&nbsp;that can&nbsp;afford me to study without scholarship.(As I know,the tuition in American is as expensive as a&nbsp;department here in Beijing.)</p> <p>My propose is not "escape China" or "escape the collage entrance examination". I just want to have a better development. And study in the way I want.</p> <p>Here are a few things that I know.</p> <p>First, you should have the SAT test and&nbsp;get a great score.</p> <p>Then, you shold write a great application so that it increase the possibility for you to enter a great collage.</p> <p>Third, you should know, when you come to America, you are ALONG. So be perpared for the independent life.</p> <p>So plz give me some advice and if you are student studying abroad, come here and discuss it!&nbsp; Plz tell me some experience and preparation, also some details to go into the American collage.</p> <p>Most thanks to all of you!</p> <p>Ivan</p>
  • Xiao
    Xiao wrote: