Discussion » Beijing Life » Contract Options - Housing.

• SoulCreative Web Studios
    SoulCreative Web Studios wrote:

Hello everyone,

I am a sophomore in college currently working on a contract with a Chinese recruiting company. They offer some choices on what will be in my contract in exchange for teaching English in their school for a year in Beijing.

I want to teach English in China to learn Chinese, and experience their culture. My ultimate goal is to learn Chinese, and work in Chinese business as I am a business management major.

The packages are as follows:

1. 5,000 RMB per month + Accomodation + Visa Service + Two hours Mandarin Lessons each week + 1,000 USD Airfare + Free meels on campus + Paid Chinese holiday + Assistance from staff + Free TEFL Certification

2. 7,000 RMB per month + Visa Service + Two hours Mandarin Lessons each week + 1,000 USD Airfare Bonus + Free meals on Campus + Paid Chinese Holida + Assistance from Staff + Free TEFL Certification

3. 9,000 RMB per month + Free meals on campus + Paid Chinese Holidays + Assistance from Staff.

Which contract do you think is ideal? Should I find my own place to live with the extra 2,000 RMB a month I make? Should I do EVERYTHING myself with the extra 4,000 RMB a month?

Please help. I know nothing of Beijing life, and its costs.

Thanks,

Daniel Lessor

• Pete DeMola
    Pete DeMola wrote:

All holidays should be paid -- that's a given while teaching in China. Same goes for the visa.

I'd go for Option #2 and find an apartment yourself. With 2,000 RMB extra per month, you can find a place -- shared, of course. But it'd probably be good for you to get out there and find a Chinese roommate. Go Forth and Assimilate.

We have an apartment guide (click Housing, top tab), which may help you.

Good luck!

• Minger
    Minger wrote: