Discussion » All non BJ languages » Why do kindergarden teachers not require a degree?

• SoulCreative Web Studios
    SoulCreative Web Studios wrote:

Hey everyone,

I am a sophomore in college, and I was planning to continue my education online while living in China. Naturally, I am planning to get a job in China to finance this, but the only jobs I am offered is teaching Kindergarten.

I am find with teaching younger kids, and I would not mind it. Also, I realize that you must have completed your degree before teaching at official institutions, but I must ask why you don't need a degree to teach younger children? Are these programs ligitimate?

Thanks,

Daniel Lessor

• Jacopo DR
    Jacopo DR wrote:

You don't???

that's a pretty scary thing.

• Simen Wangberg

Actually, even a lot of the kindergarden positions usually require at least a bachelor's degree, although from what I understand, these kinds of things can be negotiated.

Some of the schools are legit, others are not. Honestly, it's hard to say whether one is or isn't legit. You're better off finding someone that's actually worked at one of these places and asking them what's up.

When I was looking at teaching, all the places I interviewed at required a bachelor's degree, so I can't really give you any useful information about actually working at one of these places that doesn't require one.

What is your motivation in coming to China right now? I mean, wouldn't it be easier to find a job in the States while you're finishing your degree? It just seems like it'd be much more prudent to slug it out for a couple more years until you have your bachelor's, at which time you would have no problem finding a legitimate teaching job in China...if you still wanted to come here at that time.