Discussion » Beijing Life » Is it really hard to find a job right now?

• Linda
    Linda wrote:

Many people said that it is really hard to find a job right now due to the financial crisis. I am expecting to know the answer. I urgently want to change my job.

• 叮噹叔叔 (令狐叮噹)

It is a matter of the market demand, the location and your background ... different cities would of course favour different areas of work.

My background is IT, specifically CRM and eCommerce, but I dont know .NET nor Java, and that made me non-marketable in Beijing, but I heard it is ok in Shanghai ...

So, what is your background? You are only 25, so you probably only have one or two years of exp? Do you want to change to another area? Or just want to change company?

• Eason LL
    Eason LL wrote:

i hate to say this ,but just want to know clearly. some people say  that if you want to find a job in China nowadays, it not depends on how good you are or where did you graduate, it depends on whether you have "guanxi" ( connection in english?)  or not. i just want to ask is it the same in beijing or not?

• 叮噹叔叔 (令狐叮噹)

You are nearly correct about this ... for most corp in China, big or small, locally funded or foreign owned, Beijing or otherwise, having "connection" (or relationship) can still be useful, though not required. With the connection, one can get insider information, who is hiring what, who is the interviewer, how to impress the interviewer etc, however, this does not guarantee that any idiot (for example me) would get into one ...

If your know someone who owns the joint, then you are set ... otherwise, if he/she is only the management, especially with nothing to do with hiring decision, then it wont be much use ...

• Eason LL
    Eason LL wrote:

Do you happen to own any joint? haha

• Jericho Zhang
    Jericho Zhang wrote:

Eason, i think you are half right on this. You need to think in the shoes of your potential employer. That way you can market yourself to their needs.